Back to Articles

Eleven Receive Pins at Respiratory Care Ceremony

The 2012 graduating class in Respiratory Care received their pins in ceremonies held this week at LSU Eunice. Eleven graduates were honored at the annual pinning ceremony after spending four semesters in the top-ranked program in Louisiana.

Graduating from the programs were Corie Babineaux of Duson, Matthew Bourg of Breaux Bridge, Cassaundra Derouen of Lake Charles, Anjelique Duplechin of Ville Platte, Kaitlyn Fletcher of Pollock, Camille Hebert of Gueydan, Travis Mathews of Abbeville, Brittany Miller of Marksville, Emily Morgan of Rayne, Candace Sam of Lawtell, and Heather Trahan, Lafayette.

Honored during the ceremony were Miller and Derouen, who earned the program's top awards. Miller received the Scholastic Achievement Award which is given to the student with the highest grade point average in the class. Derouen earned the Distinguished Student Award, which is selected by class members and honors the student who is a role model for others in the program.

LSU Eunice alumnus and Director of Respiratory Therapy at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, Anna Naquin, addressed the students telling them "we have a proud profession and I want to welcome you to it."

The university's Respiratory Care program is one of the top in the nation, consistently having a 100 percent pass rate on national board exams.


December 11, 2012



Pictured with the program's faculty are (front) Travis Mathews, Abbeville; Corie Babineaux, Duson; and Cassaundra Derouen, Lake Charles. Standing on the back row are Kathleen Warner, Program Director; Anjelique Duplechin, Ville Platte; Matthew Bourg, Breaux Bridge; Kaitlyn Fletcher, Pollock; Michael Wyble, Clinical Coordinator; Emily Morgan, Rayne; Brittany Miller of Marksville; Camille Hebert, Gueydan; and Candace Sam, Lawtell. Not pictured is Heather Trahan of Lafayette. 

 © 2009 LSUE All Rights Reserved