Back to Articles

Bengals Win Third National Title

ENID, Oklahoma -- The LSU Eunice baseball team (52-13) defeated UConn Avery Point by a score of 10-2 to win the NJCAA National Championship.

The Championship makes the second in three years for the Bengals and the third in the past five years. LSU Eunice won the National Title in 2006 and 2008 and have made three straight trips to the NJCAA World Series.

Chance Mistric (13-1) earned the win on the mound pitching 6 1/3 innings, allowing two runs on four hits with two walks and four strikeouts.

Brook Boudreaux went 2-for-3 with four RBI's to lead the way offensively.

Mistric was named the Co-Outstanding pitcher of the tournament along with Brett Schulick from UConn. Jordan Bourque, Jacob Fisher, and Raph Rhymes were named to the All-tournament team while Gabriel Thibodeaux was named the tournament MVP.