Back to Articles

Faculty, Staff Honored at Banquet

LSU Eunice honored its faculty and staff at the university's annual Faculty Staff Appreciation Dinner. Assistant Professor in Nursing, Bonnie Dupre, was presented with the night's highest award.

Photo Gallery

Dupre won the coveted LSUE Foundation Teaching Excellence Award sponsored by Campus Federal Credit Union. She started at LSU Eunice in 2008 after completing her Master of Science in nursing with an advanced practice license in adult nursing practitioner. Dupre was promoted to Assistant Professor in Nursing in 2011, has been involved in several Undergraduate Research Summer Institute projects, and was granted an Endowed Professorship in Nursing for 2012-2013 for which she developed and instituted a nursing pharmacology class. Dupre is a graduate of Basile High School, and she earned her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from McNeese in 2001. She is married to Marshall Dupre, and they have two children.

Caletta Soileau, the university's Human Resource Specialist; Donald Alfred, a university custodian; and Debra Seihan, an administrative assistant in the Division of Health Sciences and Business Technology were presented with the LSU Eunice Foundation's Staff Excellence Award.

Campus Federal Credit Union also sponsored for the first time the LSUE Foundation Academic Advising Excellence Award. The award was presented to Steve Gervais, Associate Professor and Coordinator of Fire and Emergency Services, and to Dr. Lois Nemetz, Associate Professor of Communication Studies. The recipients of the Advising Excellence Award are selected by the students of the university.

Dr. Michael Alleman and Dr. John Hamlin were recognized for their award of promotion and tenure. Alleman was promoted to Associate Professor of English while Hamlin was promoted to Associate Professor of Biology.

Faculty and staff members were also recognized for their service to the university. Marjana Herring, an information technology technical support specialist, was honored for 30 years of service to LSU Eunice. Dr. James Robinson, Professor of Sociology, was recognized for 25 years of service.

Honored for 20 years with LSU Eunice were Dr. Jameel Al-Dujaili, Robert McLaughlin, Floyd Menard and Avery Williams. Those recognized for 15 years of service were Dr. Maura Cavell, Tanva Huval, Lorrie Joubert, Dr. Fred Landry, Camille Lavigne, Mary Leslie, Dr. Lois Nemetz, and Vice Chancellor Renée Robichaux. Receiving honors for ten years with LSU Eunice were Jennifer Creswell, Dr. Billy Fontenot, Steven Gervais, Angela Sonnier, and Michael Wyble. Being acknowledged for 5 years with LSUE were Dr. Luciane Berg, Danielle Bertrand, Bernard Dixon, Bonnie Dupre, Angela Klumpp, Andy Lee, Dorothy McDonald, Jude Meche, Gretchen Miller, Gerald Patout, Crystal Rougeau, Michael Scanlan, and Jamie Thibodeaux.

The LSUE Foundation also honored the university's retirees. Retiring this year are Donald Alfred, custodian with the physical plant; Gerald Cox, who worked with the physical plant since 1997; Cindy Darbonne, Professor of Business Information Technology; Edwin Deshautelle, Professor of Business Administration and Coordinator of Management; Floyd Menard, security guard; Elijah Neville, Custodial Supervisor; Claire Richard, an accounting specialist; Dr. Jeanne Soileau, Professor of Office Administration; Debra Vidrine, Associate Professor of Nursing; and Elaine Watkins, and administrative coordinator with Business Affairs.


{anchor: photogallery}{anchor: photogallery}Photo Gallery

Teaching Excellence Award

Bonnie Dupre

Academic Advising Excellence Award

Steve Gervais and Dr. Lois Nemetz

Staff Excellence Award

Caletta Soileau


Staff Excellence Award

Donald Alfred


Staff Excellence Award

Debra Seihan 

Retiree - Donald Alfred - Spring 2013

Retiree - Cindy Darbonne - Spring 2013

Retiree - Edwin Deshautelle - Spring 2013

   Retiree - Floyd Menard - Spring 2013

   Retiree - Elijah Neville - Spring 2013

   Retiree - Claire Richard - Spring 2013

   Retiree - Debra Vidrine - Spring 2013



May 9, 2013